2018

CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

SJM 26

Study Exporting Coal

SJM 26
Study Exporting Coal

CVNM Position:
Oppose
Sponsor(s):
Issue(s):
,
Legislative Info:
SJM 26 on nmlegis.gov »

Description

From toxic levels of mercury in our waterways to global warming, the consequences of using coal as an energy source are obvious. By pushing a coal export study, SJM 26 sought to offset the environmental gains of reduced reliance on coal here in the U.S. with the potential of exporting coal—with all of its associated public health and environmental damages—to Asia. Instead, SJM 26 should have explored ways to stimulate the Navajo economy outside of continued coal mining, including solar and other renewable energy development.

Outcome

SJM 26 died on the Senate floor calendar.

How to use the table below

How legislators voted on SJM 26

Legislator Party District Counties Office Latest Score Lifetime Score Legislative Link Position Email Address Home Phone Office Phone Address Vote
Candelaria , Jacob R. D 26 Bernalillo Senator 78% 81% View on nmlegis.gov » jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 505-847-5079 3608 Ladera Dr. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
-
Cervantes , Joseph D 31 Doña Ana Senator 98% 86% View on nmlegis.gov » joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 575-522-3352 575-526-5600 2610 S Espina
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001
-
Griego , Phil A. D 39 Bernalillo, Lincoln, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia Senator N/A 47% View on nmlegis.gov » senatorgriego@yahoo.com 575-421-2863 505-469-9470 P.O. Box 10
San Jose, New Mexico 87565
-
Ingle , Stuart R 27 Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea, Roosevelt Senator 19% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Floor Leader stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov 575-356-3088 2106 W University Dr.
Portales, New Mexico 88130
e
Ivey-Soto , Daniel A. D 15 Bernalillo Senator 91% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 505-881-4475 1420 Carlisle Blvd. NE Ste. 208
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87110
-
Lopez , Linda M. D 11 Bernalillo Senator 87% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 505-831-4148 9132 Suncrest SW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87121
-
Martinez , Richard C. D 5 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe Senator 59% 61% View on nmlegis.gov » richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 505-747-2337 P.O. Box 762
Espanola, New Mexico 87532
-
Moores , Mark R 21 Bernalillo Senator 48% 30% View on nmlegis.gov » mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 505-681-1975 P.O. Box 90970
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87199
-
Ortiz y Pino , Gerald D 12 Bernalillo Senator 100% 93% View on nmlegis.gov » jortizyp@msn.com 505-243-1509 400 12th St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
+
Payne , William H. R 20 Bernalillo Senator 42% 29% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Whip william.payne@nmlegis.gov 505-986-4702 P.O. Box 14823
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87191
-
Pirtle , Cliff R. R 32 Chaves, Eddy, Otero Senator 55% 33% View on nmlegis.gov » cliff.pirtle@nmlegis.gov 575-626-7046 5507 Y.O. Rd.
Roswell, New Mexico 88203
-
Rue , Sander R 23 Bernalillo Senator 94% 47% View on nmlegis.gov » sander.rue@nmlegis.gov 505-899-0288 7500 Rancho Solano Ct. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
-
Ryan , John C. R 10 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 45% 34% View on nmlegis.gov » john.ryan@nmlegis.gov 505-238-3733 5000 Los Poblanos Lane NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107
-
Sanchez , Clemente D 30 Cibola, McKinley, Socorro, Valencia Senator 64% 66% View on nmlegis.gov » clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov 505-287-2515 612 Inwood Ave.
Grants, New Mexico 87020
-
Sanchez , Michael S. D 29 Bernalillo, Valencia Senator 100% 95% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Leader 505-865-5583 505-865-0688 3 Bunton Rd.
Belen, New Mexico 87002
e
Sapien , John M. D 9 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 82% 69% View on nmlegis.gov » john.sapien@nmlegis.gov 505-765-5662 1600 W Ella
Corrales, New Mexico 87048
-
Sharer , William E. R 1 San Juan Senator 26% 18% View on nmlegis.gov » bill@williamsharer.com 505-325-5055 P.O. Box 203
Farmington, New Mexico 87499
-
Shendo Jr. , Benny D 22 Bernalillo, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Senator 90% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7235 P.O. Box 634
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
-
Soules , William P. D 37 Doña Ana Senator 95% 96% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.soules@nmlegis.gov 575-640-0409 5054 Silver King
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88011
-
Wirth , Peter D 25 Santa Fe Senator 100% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Floor Leader peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 505-989-8667 505-988-1668 708 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Woods , Pat R 7 Curry, Quay, Union Senator 20% 24% View on nmlegis.gov » pat.woods@nmlegis.gov 575-357-8594 4000 C.R. M
Broadview, New Mexico 88112
-