2017

CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

SB 253

Prohibit & Define Coyote Killing Contest

SB 253
Prohibit & Define Coyote Killing Contest

CVNM Position:
Support
Sponsor(s):
Issue(s):
Legislative Info:
SB 253 on nmlegis.gov »

Description

SB 253 prohibited contests for the purposes of coyote killing. It would have had no effect on hunting for fur or even trophies—it would simply eliminate the “contest” component, which arises when there are competitions, for example, to see who can kill the most coyotes. Votes scored are the final passage on the Senate floor and the Tabling motion in the House Agriculture, Water and Wildlife Committee.

Outcome

SB 253 died in the House Agriculture, Water and Wildlife Committee.

How to use the table below

How legislators voted on SB 253

Legislator Party District Counties Office Latest Score Lifetime Score Legislative Link Position Email Address Home Phone Office Phone Address Vote
Bandy , Paul C. R 3 San Juan Representative 36% 28% View on nmlegis.gov » paul@paulbandy.org 505-334-0865 388 C.R. 2900
Aztec, New Mexico 87410
-
Beffort , Sue Wilson R 19 Bernalillo, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Torrance Senator 67% 42% View on nmlegis.gov » sue.beffort@nmlegis.gov 505-292-7116 67 Raindance Rd.
Sandia Park, New Mexico 87047
+
Brandt , Craig W. R 40 Sandoval Senator 50% 40% View on nmlegis.gov » craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 505-503-5001 7012 Tampico Road NE
Rio Rancho, New Mexico 87144
-
Burt , William F. R 33 Chaves, Lincoln, Otero Senator 14% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.burt@nmlegis.gov 575-434-6140 575-434-1414 Box 1848
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88311
-
Campos , Pete D 8 Colfax, Guadalupe, Harding, Mora, Quay, San Miguel, Taos Senator 77% 74% View on nmlegis.gov » pete.campos@nmlegis.gov 505-425-0508 505-454-2501 418 Raynolds Ave.
Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701
+
Candelaria , Jacob R. D 26 Bernalillo Senator 81% 83% View on nmlegis.gov » jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 505-847-5079 3501 Atrisco Dr. NW
#423
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
+
Cervantes , Joseph D 31 Doña Ana Senator 100% 86% View on nmlegis.gov » joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 575-522-3352 575-526-5600 2610 S Espina
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001
+
Cisneros , Carlos R. D 6 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Santa Fe, Taos Senator 60% 71% View on nmlegis.gov » carlos.cisneros@nmlegis.gov 505-670-5610 Box 1129
Questa, New Mexico 87556
+
Cotter , Lee S. R 36 Doña Ana Senator 10% 6% View on nmlegis.gov » 575-525-3200 6670 Butterfield Rdg.
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
-
Crowder , Randal S. R 64 Curry Representative 47% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » randal.crowder@nmlegis.gov 575-763-3901 509 Playa Dr.
Clovis, New Mexico 88101
-
Dodge Jr. , George D 63 Curry, De Baca, Guadalupe, Roosevelt, San Miguel Representative 79% 50% View on nmlegis.gov » george.dodgejr@nmlegis.gov 575-472-3798 Box 316
Santa Rosa, New Mexico 88435
-
Ezzell , Candy Spence R 58 Chaves Representative 24% 19% View on nmlegis.gov » csecows@aol.com 575-625-0550 Box 2125
Roswell, New Mexico 88202
-
Gomez , Bealquin "Bill" D 34 Doña Ana Representative 78% 69% View on nmlegis.gov » bealquin.gomez@nmlegis.gov 575-233-3040 400 Dawson Rd
La Mesa, New Mexico 88044
-
Gonzales , Roberto "Bobby" J. D 42 Taos Representative 80% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » roberto.gonzales@nmlegis.gov 575-758-2674 575-751-1467 26 Lavender Lane
Ranchos De Taos, New Mexico 87557
+
Griego , Phil A. D 39 Bernalillo, Lincoln, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia Senator N/A 47% View on nmlegis.gov » senatorgriego@yahoo.com 575-421-2863 505-469-9470 P.O. Box 10
San Jose, New Mexico 87565
-
Griggs , Ron R 34 Doña Ana, Eddy, Otero Senator 35% 37% View on nmlegis.gov » ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov 575-439-1331 2704 Birdie Loop
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88310
-
Ingle , Stuart R 27 Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea, Roosevelt Senator 0% 23% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Floor Leader stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov 575-356-3088 2106 W University Dr.
Portales, New Mexico 88130
-
Irwin , Dona G. D 32 Grant, Hidalgo, Luna Representative 32% 38% View on nmlegis.gov » donagale@zianet.com 575-546-9376 575-544-6003 420 S Slate
Deming, New Mexico 88030
-
Ivey-Soto , Daniel A. D 15 Bernalillo Senator 94% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 505-881-4475 1420 Carlisle Blvd. NE
Ste. 208
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87110
+
Kernan , Gay G. R 42 Chaves, Eddy, Lea Senator 54% 33% View on nmlegis.gov » gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov 505-629-8081 928 W Mesa Verde
Hobbs, New Mexico 88240
+
Leavell , Carroll H. R 41 Eddy, Lea Senator 36% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » leavell4@leaco.net 575-395-3154 575-393-2550 Drawer D
Jal, New Mexico 88252
-
Lopez , Linda M. D 11 Bernalillo Senator 83% 83% View on nmlegis.gov » linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 505-831-4148 9132 Suncrest SW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87121
+
Martinez , Richard C. D 5 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe Senator 63% 62% View on nmlegis.gov » richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 505-747-2337 Box 762
Espanola, New Mexico 87532
-
McCamley , Bill D 33 Doña Ana Representative 100% 87% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.mccamley@nmlegis.gov 575-496-5731 P.O. Box 458
Mesilla Park, New Mexico 88048
+
McSorley , Cisco D 16 Bernalillo Senator 97% 98% View on nmlegis.gov » cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 505-266-0588 505-266-0588 415 Wellesley Pl. NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87106
+
Moores , Mark R 21 Bernalillo Senator 38% 24% View on nmlegis.gov » mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 505-681-1975 6816 Medina Lane NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87111
+
Morales , Howie C. D 28 Catron, Grant, Socorro Senator 94% 78% View on nmlegis.gov » howie.morales@nmlegis.gov 575-574-0043 4285 Swan St.
Silver City, New Mexico 88061
e
Munoz , George K. D 4 Cibola, McKinley, San Juan Senator 36% 45% View on nmlegis.gov » munozgeo@gmail.com 505-722-0191 505-722-6570 Box 2679
Gallup, New Mexico 87305
-
Neville , Steven P. R 2 San Juan Senator 67% 37% View on nmlegis.gov » steven.neville@nmlegis.gov 505-327-5460 Box 1570
Aztec, New Mexico 87410
+
Nuñez , Andy R 36 Doña Ana Representative 9% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » annunez@zianet.com 575-520-1654 PO Box 746
Hatch, New Mexico 87937
-
O'Neill , Bill B. D 13 Bernalillo Senator 100% 96% View on nmlegis.gov » oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 505-450-9263 343 Sarah Ln. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87114
+
Ortiz y Pino , Gerald D 12 Bernalillo Senator 100% 92 View on nmlegis.gov » jortizyp@msn.com 505-243-1509 400 12th St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
+
Padilla , Michael D 14 Bernalillo Senator 94% 83% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Whip michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov 505-977-6247 P.O. Box 67545
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87193
+
Papen , Mary Kay D 38 Doña Ana Senator 67% 55% View on nmlegis.gov » President Pro Tempore marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov 575-524-4462 904 Conway Ave.
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88005
+
Payne , William H. R 20 Bernalillo Senator 39% 27% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Whip william.payne@nmlegis.gov 505-986-4702 Box 14823
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87191
+
Pinto , John D 3 McKinley, San Juan Senator 100% 77% View on nmlegis.gov » 720-357-9275 509 W Morgan Ave.
Gallup, New Mexico 87301
+
Pirtle , Cliff R. R 32 Chaves, Eddy, Otero Senator 53% 29% View on nmlegis.gov » cliff.pirtle@nmlegis.gov 575-626-7046 5507 Y.O. Rd.
Roswell, New Mexico 88203
-
Rodriguez , Nancy D 24 Santa Fe Senator 86% 85% View on nmlegis.gov » nancy.rodriguez@nmlegis.gov 505-983-8913 1838 Camino La Canada
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Rue , Sander R 23 Bernalillo Senator 92% 43% View on nmlegis.gov » sander.rue@nmlegis.gov 505-899-0288 7500 Rancho Solano Ct. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
+
Ryan , John C. R 10 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 45% 34% View on nmlegis.gov » john.ryan@nmlegis.gov 505-238-3733 5000 Los Poblanos Lane NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107
+
Sanchez , Clemente D 30 Cibola, McKinley, Socorro, Valencia Senator 65% 66% View on nmlegis.gov » clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov 505-287-2515 612 Inwood Ave.
Grants, New Mexico 87020
+
Sanchez , Michael S. D 29 Bernalillo, Valencia Senator 100% 95% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Leader 505-865-5583 505-865-0688 3 Bunton Rd.
Belen, New Mexico 87002
+
Sapien , John M. D 9 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 85% 68% View on nmlegis.gov » john.sapien@nmlegis.gov 505-765-5662 1600 W Ella
Corrales, New Mexico 87048
e
Sharer , William E. R 1 San Juan Senator 16% 17% View on nmlegis.gov » bill@williamsharer.com P.O. Box 203
Farmington, New Mexico 87499
-
Shendo Jr. , Benny D 22 Bernalillo, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Senator 88% 71% View on nmlegis.gov » benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7235 P.O. Box 634
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
+
Smith , John Arthur D 35 Doña Ana, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra Senator 50% 42% View on nmlegis.gov » john.smith@nmlegis.gov 575-546-8546 575-546-4979 Box 998
Deming, New Mexico 88031
-
Soules , William P. D 37 Doña Ana Senator 100% 98% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.soules@nmlegis.gov 575-522-3521 5054 Silver King
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88011
+
Steinborn , Jeff D 36 Doña Ana Senator 100% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov 575-635-5615 P.O. Box 562
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88004
+
Stewart , Mimi D 17 Bernalillo Senator 100% 96% View on nmlegis.gov » mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov 505-275-2355 313 Moon St. NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87123
+
Torraco , Lisa A. R 18 Bernalillo Senator 67% 46% View on nmlegis.gov » lisa.torraco@nmlegis.gov 505-244-0530 620 Roma Avenue NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
+
Wirth , Peter D 25 Santa Fe Senator 100% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Floor Leader peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 505-989-8667 505-988-1668 708 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Woods , Pat R 7 Curry, Quay, Union Senator 21% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » pat.woods@nmlegis.gov 575-357-8594 4000 C.R. M
Broadview, New Mexico 88112
-
Wooley , Bob R 66 Chaves, Lea, Roosevelt Representative 37% 22% View on nmlegis.gov » bobwooley66@gmail.com 575-627-6277 4504 Verde Dr.
Roswell, New Mexico 88201
-