2018

CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

SB 421 PR

Limit Local Gov’t & Zoning Commissions

SB 421 PR
Limit Local Gov’t & Zoning Commissions

CVNM Position:
Oppose
Sponsor(s):
Issue(s):
Legislative Info:
SB 421 on nmlegis.gov »

Description

Similar to HB 366, but far more sweeping in the types of local government ordinances that would be invalidated, SB 421 would have removed municipal or county governments authority to regulate mining and agricultural operations in addition to oil and gas activities. This would have removed the critical flexibility that communities need to protect the public interest on a local scale. Vote scored is the Tabling motion in the Senate Conservation Committee. SB 421 is a priority bill and is double weighted in the calculation of a legislator’s score.

Outcome

SB 421 died in the Senate Conservation Committee.

How to use the table below

How legislators voted on SB 421

Legislator Party District Counties Office Latest Score Lifetime Score Legislative Link Position Email Address Home Phone Office Phone Address Vote
Cervantes , Joseph D 31 Doña Ana Senator 98% 86% View on nmlegis.gov » joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 575-522-3352 575-526-5600 2610 S Espina
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001
+
Griego , Phil A. D 39 Bernalillo, Lincoln, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia Senator N/A 47% View on nmlegis.gov » senatorgriego@yahoo.com 575-421-2863 505-469-9470 P.O. Box 10
San Jose, New Mexico 87565
+
Ingle , Stuart R 27 Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea, Roosevelt Senator 19% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Floor Leader stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov 575-356-3088 2106 W University Dr.
Portales, New Mexico 88130
-
Martinez , Richard C. D 5 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe Senator 59% 61% View on nmlegis.gov » richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 505-747-2337 P.O. Box 762
Espanola, New Mexico 87532
e
Payne , William H. R 20 Bernalillo Senator 42% 29% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Whip william.payne@nmlegis.gov 505-986-4702 P.O. Box 14823
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87191
-
Ryan , John C. R 10 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 45% 34% View on nmlegis.gov » john.ryan@nmlegis.gov 505-238-3733 5000 Los Poblanos Lane NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107
-
Sharer , William E. R 1 San Juan Senator 26% 18% View on nmlegis.gov » bill@williamsharer.com 505-325-5055 P.O. Box 203
Farmington, New Mexico 87499
-
Shendo Jr. , Benny D 22 Bernalillo, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Senator 90% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7235 P.O. Box 634
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
+
Soules , William P. D 37 Doña Ana Senator 95% 96% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.soules@nmlegis.gov 575-640-0409 5054 Silver King
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88011
+
Wirth , Peter D 25 Santa Fe Senator 100% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Floor Leader peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 505-989-8667 505-988-1668 708 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Woods , Pat R 7 Curry, Quay, Union Senator 20% 24% View on nmlegis.gov » pat.woods@nmlegis.gov 575-357-8594 4000 C.R. M
Broadview, New Mexico 88112
-