2018

CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

PR

Confirmation of Ryan Flynn as Secretary of the Environment Department

PR
Confirmation of Ryan Flynn as Secretary of the Environment Department

CVNM Position:
Oppose
Sponsor(s):
Issue(s):
Legislative Info:
on nmlegis.gov »

Description

Since he joined the Environment Department, Flynn has shown a flagrant disregard for best practices, competent management, transparency and the rule of law. Among many other concerns:

  • Flynn allowed a giant mining company to ghost-write a new rule (and the arguments in support of it) on behalf of the Environment Department. Worse, the mining company was a client of Flynn’s law firm when he was in private practice;
  • Flynn hired a new general counsel for the Environment Department who graduated from law school less than 2 years ago—clearly lacking the experience or expertise to perform the duties required of the position; and
  • Flynn led the effort to re-assign agency experts and bureau chiefs from their areas of expertise to new roles for which they had little or no experience. For example, the long-time regulator of WIPP was reassigned to food safety, the long-time head of Air Quality was reassigned to Occupational Health & Safety, and the long-time surface water quality expert was reassigned to Underground Storage Tanks. It was a cynical move to undermine the effectiveness of NMED and drive down morale. Unfortunately, it worked.

Outcome

Ryan Flynn's confirmation as Secretary of the New Mexico Environment Department passed 30-11 on the Senate floor.

How to use the table below

How legislators voted on

Legislator Party District Counties Office Latest Score Lifetime Score Legislative Link Position Email Address Home Phone Office Phone Address Vote
Beffort , Sue Wilson R 19 Bernalillo, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Torrance Senator 0% 42% View on nmlegis.gov » sue.beffort@nmlegis.gov 505-292-7116 67 Raindance Rd.
Sandia Park, New Mexico 87047
-
Brandt , Craig W. R 40 Sandoval Senator 0% 45% View on nmlegis.gov » craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 7012 Tampico Road NE
Rio Rancho, New Mexico 87144
-
Burt , William F. R 33 Chaves, Lincoln, Otero Senator 0% 33% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.burt@nmlegis.gov 575-434-6140 575-434-1414 P.O. Box 1848
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88311
-
Campos , Pete D 8 Colfax, Guadalupe, Harding, Mora, Quay, San Miguel, Taos Senator 0% 75% View on nmlegis.gov » pete.campos@nmlegis.gov 505-425-0508 418 Raynolds Ave.
Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701
-
Candelaria , Jacob R. D 26 Bernalillo Senator 0% 81% View on nmlegis.gov » jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 505-847-5079 3608 Ladera Dr. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
+
Cervantes , Joseph D 31 Doña Ana Senator 0% 86% View on nmlegis.gov » joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 575-522-3352 575-526-5600 2610 S Espina
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001
-
Cisneros , Carlos R. D 6 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Santa Fe, Taos Senator 0% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » carlos.cisneros@nmlegis.gov 505-670-5610 P.O. Box 1129
Questa, New Mexico 87556
-
Cotter , Lee S. R 36 Doña Ana Senator 0% 6% View on nmlegis.gov » 575-525-3200 6670 Butterfield Rdg.
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
-
Griego , Phil A. D 39 Bernalillo, Lincoln, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Torrance, Valencia Senator 0% 47% View on nmlegis.gov » senatorgriego@yahoo.com 575-421-2863 505-469-9470 P.O. Box 10
San Jose, New Mexico 87565
-
Griggs , Ron R 34 Doña Ana, Eddy, Otero Senator 0% 37% View on nmlegis.gov » ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov 575-439-1331 2704 Birdie Loop
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88310
-
Ingle , Stuart R 27 Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Lea, Roosevelt Senator 0% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Floor Leader stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov 575-356-3088 2106 W University Dr.
Portales, New Mexico 88130
-
Ivey-Soto , Daniel A. D 15 Bernalillo Senator 0% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 505-881-4475 1420 Carlisle Blvd. NE Ste. 208
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87110
+
Keller , Timothy M. D 17 Bernalillo Senator 0% 85% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Whip tim.keller@nmlegis.gov 505-332-9441 11023 Vistazo Pl. SE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87123
+
Kernan , Gay G. R 42 Chaves, Eddy, Lea Senator 0% 35% View on nmlegis.gov » gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov 505-629-8081 P.O. Box 598
Hobbs, New Mexico 88241
-
Leavell , Carroll H. R 41 Eddy, Lea Senator 0% 26% View on nmlegis.gov » leavell4@leaco.net 575-395-3154 575-393-2550 P.O. Drawer D
Jal, New Mexico 88252
-
Lopez , Linda M. D 11 Bernalillo Senator 0% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 505-831-4148 9132 Suncrest SW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87121
+
Martinez , Richard C. D 5 Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, Santa Fe Senator 0% 61% View on nmlegis.gov » richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 505-747-2337 P.O. Box 762
Espanola, New Mexico 87532
-
McSorley , Cisco D 16 Bernalillo Senator 0% 98% View on nmlegis.gov » cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 505-266-0588 505-266-0588 415 Wellesley Pl. NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87106
+
Moores , Mark R 21 Bernalillo Senator 0% 30% View on nmlegis.gov » mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 505-681-1975 P.O. Box 90970
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87199
-
Morales , Howie C. D 28 Catron, Grant, Socorro Senator 0% 79% View on nmlegis.gov » howie.morales@nmlegis.gov 575-574-0043 1224 Glenda Circle
Silver City, New Mexico 88061
-
Munoz , George K. D 4 Cibola, McKinley, San Juan Senator 0% 47% View on nmlegis.gov » munozgeo@gmail.com 505-722-0191 505-722-6570 P.O. Box 2679
Gallup, New Mexico 87305
-
Neville , Steven P. R 2 San Juan Senator 0% 38% View on nmlegis.gov » steven.neville@nmlegis.gov 505-327-5460 P.O. Box 1570
Aztec, New Mexico 87410
-
O'Neill , Bill B. D 13 Bernalillo Senator 0% 97% View on nmlegis.gov » oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 505-450-9263 343 Sarah Ln. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87114
+
Ortiz y Pino , Gerald D 12 Bernalillo Senator 0% 93% View on nmlegis.gov » jortizyp@msn.com 505-243-1509 400 12th St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
-
Padilla , Michael D 14 Bernalillo Senator 0% 85% View on nmlegis.gov » michael.padilla@nmlegis.gov 505-977-6247 P.O. Box 67545
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87193
+
Papen , Mary Kay D 38 Doña Ana Senator 0% 55% View on nmlegis.gov » President Pro Tempore marykay.papen@nmlegis.gov 575-524-4462 904 Conway Ave.
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88005
-
Payne , William H. R 20 Bernalillo Senator 0% 29% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Minority Whip william.payne@nmlegis.gov 505-986-4702 P.O. Box 14823
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87191
-
Pinto , John D 3 McKinley, San Juan Senator 0% 78% View on nmlegis.gov » 720-357-9275 509 W Morgan Ave.
Gallup, New Mexico 87301
a
Pirtle , Cliff R. R 32 Chaves, Eddy, Otero Senator 0% 33% View on nmlegis.gov » cliff.pirtle@nmlegis.gov 575-626-7046 5507 Y.O. Rd.
Roswell, New Mexico 88203
-
Rodriguez , Nancy D 24 Santa Fe Senator 0% 86% View on nmlegis.gov » nancy.rodriguez@nmlegis.gov 505-983-8913 1838 Camino La Canada
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Rue , Sander R 23 Bernalillo Senator 0% 47% View on nmlegis.gov » sander.rue@nmlegis.gov 505-899-0288 7500 Rancho Solano Ct. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
-
Ryan , John C. R 10 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 0% 34% View on nmlegis.gov » john.ryan@nmlegis.gov 505-238-3733 5000 Los Poblanos Lane NW
Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107
-
Sanchez , Clemente D 30 Cibola, McKinley, Socorro, Valencia Senator 0% 66% View on nmlegis.gov » clemente.sanchez@nmlegis.gov 505-287-2515 612 Inwood Ave.
Grants, New Mexico 87020
-
Sanchez , Michael S. D 29 Bernalillo, Valencia Senator 0% 95% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Leader 505-865-5583 505-865-0688 3 Bunton Rd.
Belen, New Mexico 87002
+
Sapien , John M. D 9 Bernalillo, Sandoval Senator 0% 69% View on nmlegis.gov » john.sapien@nmlegis.gov 505-765-5662 1600 W Ella
Corrales, New Mexico 87048
-
Sharer , William E. R 1 San Juan Senator 0% 18% View on nmlegis.gov » bill@williamsharer.com 505-325-5055 P.O. Box 203
Farmington, New Mexico 87499
-
Shendo Jr. , Benny D 22 Bernalillo, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Senator 0% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7235 P.O. Box 634
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
-
Smith , John Arthur D 35 Doña Ana, Hidalgo, Luna, Sierra Senator 0% 44% View on nmlegis.gov » john.smith@nmlegis.gov 575-546-8546 575-546-4979 P.O. Box 998
Deming, New Mexico 88031
-
Soules , William P. D 37 Doña Ana Senator 0% 96% View on nmlegis.gov » bill.soules@nmlegis.gov 575-640-0409 5054 Silver King
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88011
+
Torraco , Lisa A. R 18 Bernalillo Senator 0% 46% View on nmlegis.gov » lisa.torraco@nmlegis.gov 505-244-0530 620 Roma Avenue NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
-
Wirth , Peter D 25 Santa Fe Senator 0% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Floor Leader peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 505-989-8667 505-988-1668 708 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
+
Woods , Pat R 7 Curry, Quay, Union Senator 0% 24% View on nmlegis.gov » pat.woods@nmlegis.gov 575-357-8594 4000 C.R. M
Broadview, New Mexico 88112
-