2018

CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

HB 494/SB 610

Community Health Study Fund & Uranium Mining

HB 494/SB 610
Community Health Study Fund & Uranium Mining

CVNM Position:
Support
Sponsor(s):
Issue(s):
Legislative Info:
HB 494/SB 610 on nmlegis.gov »

Description

Pollution, like legacy waste sites from uranium mining, not only endangers natural resources but also poses severe risks to public health. However, there is currently no process in place to study the impacts that environmental degradation has on the quality of health over time. HB 494 and SB 610 began to address this by creating a community health study fund, paid for by fines assessed to companies directly responsible for contamination. Votes scored are the Tabling motion on HB 494 in the House Health Committee and the Do Pass on SB 610 in the Senate Public Affairs Committee.

Outcome

HB 494 died in the House Health Committee. SB 610 died in the Senate Conservation Committee.

How to use the table below

How legislators voted on HB 494/SB 610

Legislator Party District Counties Office Latest Score Lifetime Score Legislative Link Position Email Address Home Phone Office Phone Address Vote
Armstrong , Deborah A. D 17 Bernalillo Representative 100% 95% View on nmlegis.gov » deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 505-795-5164 505-424-7104 2015 Dietz Place NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87107
+
Candelaria , Jacob R. D 26 Bernalillo Senator 78% 81% View on nmlegis.gov » jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 505-847-5079 3608 Ladera Dr. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87120
+
Chasey , Gail D 18 Bernalillo Representative 100% 93% View on nmlegis.gov » gail@gailchasey.com 505-266-5191 505-246-2221 508 Morningside Drive SE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87108
+
Fajardo , Kelly K. R 7 Valencia Representative 50% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » kelly.fajardo@nmlegis.gov 505-573-0471 1402 Main Street, Box B501
Los Lunas, New Mexico 87031
-
Griggs , Ron R 34 Doña Ana, Eddy, Otero Senator 37% 37% View on nmlegis.gov » ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov 575-439-1331 2704 Birdie Loop
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88310
e
Ivey-Soto , Daniel A. D 15 Bernalillo Senator 91% 84% View on nmlegis.gov » daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 505-881-4475 1420 Carlisle Blvd. NE Ste. 208
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87110
e
Kernan , Gay G. R 42 Chaves, Eddy, Lea Senator 59% 35% View on nmlegis.gov » gay.kernan@nmlegis.gov 505-629-8081 P.O. Box 598
Hobbs, New Mexico 88241
e
Louis , Georgene D 26 Bernalillo Representative 100% 100% View on nmlegis.gov » georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov 505-250-7932 P.O. Box 72123
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87195
+
Madalena , James Roger D 65 Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Representative 100% 78% View on nmlegis.gov » james.madalena@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7005 373 Buffalo Hill Rd.
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
+
McMillan , Terry H. R 37 Doña Ana Representative 15% 14% View on nmlegis.gov » docmcmillan@gmail.com 575-635-0534 2001 E Lohman Ave.
#282
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001
-
Nuñez , Andy R 36 Doña Ana Representative 9% 25% View on nmlegis.gov » annunez@zianet.com 575-520-1654 PO Box 746
Hatch, New Mexico 87937
-
O'Neill , Bill B. D 13 Bernalillo Senator 100% 97% View on nmlegis.gov » oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 505-450-9263 343 Sarah Ln. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87114
+
Ortiz y Pino , Gerald D 12 Bernalillo Senator 100% 93% View on nmlegis.gov » jortizyp@msn.com 505-243-1509 400 12th St. NW
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102
+
Salazar , Nick L. D 40 Colfax, Mora, Rio Arriba, San Miguel Representative 100% 70% View on nmlegis.gov » 505-852-4178 505-663-5849 Box 1076
Ohkay Owingeh, New Mexico 87566
e
Shendo Jr. , Benny D 22 Bernalillo, McKinley, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan Senator 90% 73% View on nmlegis.gov » benny.shendo@nmlegis.gov 575-834-7235 P.O. Box 634
Jemez Pueblo, New Mexico 87024
+
Stewart , Mimi D 17 Bernalillo Senator 90% 97% View on nmlegis.gov » Senate Majority Whip mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov 505-275-2355 313 Moon St. NE
Albuquerque, New Mexico 87123
+
Tripp , Don L. R 49 Catron, Socorro, Valencia Representative 11% 28% View on nmlegis.gov » Speaker of the House trippsdon@netscape.net 575-835-0766 575-835-2465 Box 1369
Socorro, New Mexico 87801
-
Zimmerman , John L. R 39 Doña Ana, Grant, Sierra Representative 11% 11% View on nmlegis.gov » jzimmer_43@msn.com 575-523-0215 575-649-1217 6715 Pueblo Vista
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
-