CVNM Conservation Scorecard – Conservation Voters New Mexico

About Our Legislators

About Our Legislators

The New Mexico state legislature is comprised of 42 senators and 70 representatives, for a total of 112 members. The Senate began the 2018 legislative session with 26 Democrats and 16 Republicans and the House of Representatives includes 32 Republicans and 38 Democrats.

Citizen Legislature

New Mexico is one of only a handful of states still served by a “citizen legislature,” meaning that state legislators are not monetarily compensated and generally have occupations outside of their service as public officials. Although New Mexico legislators receive a modest allowance for mileage and expenses for attending sessions and interim committee meetings, the state constitution prohibits any other compensation.


A “legislature” in New Mexico, such as the “53rd Legislature,” consists of two sessions split into two-year cycles, for which legislators convene in mid-January. In odd-numbered years, legislators convene for a “long session” of 60 days. In even-numbered years, they meet for a “short session” of 30 days, during which only budget matters and issues approved by the Governor may be considered. New Mexico legislative sessions are among the shortest in the country.

Learn More